Select Committees in Senate and House to Address Mass Violence


Both the Texas House and Senate have established select committees to address incidents of mass violence in Texas. These committees will conduct hearings throughout the state, including Austin, to help develop a set of recommendations to expand legislation passed during the 86th legislative session. 

Members of the Senate select committee are Sen. Joan Huffman, Chairman, and Senators Judith Zaffirini, Donna Campbell, Kelly Hancock, Jane Nelson, Charles Perry, Jose Rodriguez, Larry Taylor, and John Whitmire.  

In the House, the members of the select committee are Rep. Drew Darby, Chairman, and Representatives Poncho Nevarez, Cesar Blanco, Giovanni Capriglione, Charlie Geren, Barbara Gervin-Hawkins, Julie Johnson, Brooks Landgraf, Mike Lang, Joe Moody, Geanie Morrison, Four Price, and Armando Walle.